People in communities can make decisions that protect and improve the natural environment. Which one is the most useful?

A. plant trees and create parks

B. persuade local shops to stop providing plastic bags to customers

C. increase access to public transportation to reduce the number of automobiles on local roads

Protecting the natural environment is the crucial thing we need to do in modern society. Though the all three environmentally-improving movements offered in the prompt are important, in my opinion, increasing access to public transportation to reduce the number of automobiles is the vital one.

To begin with, people need transportation everyday, and increasing public transportation will surely reduce incredible pollution. In modern society, convenient transportation enables people to go any place they want that we cannot live without them. Since in many communities the public transportation is not accessible very much, almost every adult, not every family, owns a car. However, these huge numbers of automobiles produce pernicious pollution, harm our health ,and decrease the air quality. Thus, if communities can resolve to increase the public transportation, then people can decrease their dependence on their own cars which not only produce pollution but also cost much to maintain. This way, the pollution caused by this huge number of automobiles can reduce significantly.

Another reason that we are required to reduce the number of automobiles is that this policy protects the habitats of wild animals. In order to enable people to use these automobiles conveniently, we need a big amount of land to build not only roads but also parking lots. Thus, automobiles take lots of space which is used to be the home of many other species. If we reduce our private cars and take the public buses or trains or any kinds of public transportation, then there are fewer automobiles. As a result, we no longer need to expand the numbers of roads, parking lots, and even we can return some space back to wild animals.

The last but most important reason is that this big number of automobiles consume' crural oil tremendously which is the root resulting in global warming. We can reduce this kind of problem if we increase the access to public transportation. My city is a good example to illustrate this idea. Our new major increased the routes and the numbers of buses 50% and 10%, respectively. From that on, the amount of oil we consume in our city reduces 20% in one year. In other words, increasing public transportation is a useful strategy to slow the trend of global warming.

Admittedly, some people might argue that planting trees, creating parks, or persuading local shops to stop providing plastic bags are more important. However, with the reasons I mentioned above, I believe that increasing access to public transportation to reduce the number of automobiles is the crucial one that communities should do immediately.