The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I mostly agree with the prompt that analysing history is paramount in antagonising the illusion that we humans are different from the people who lived in earlier times.

Firstly, since the beginning of human conscience we have been hugely affected by the emotions and feelings which transcend over time. People living in the ancient times experienced similar states of greed, jealousy, avarice, love etc. which we tend to feel in this contemporary world. Thus, it's correctly stated that "History tends to repeat itself". If the emotions which forced the our ancestors to make woeful decisions, and we going through the stages of emotions, can perpetrate the same. For instance, the world has seen two World Wars, many fascist leaders and inhuman practices like slavery etc. Therefore, it is pivotal to study the reasons which caused theses situations, their consequences , and the steps which we can undertake to avoid them. Like, in Nazi Germany, Hitler used the Nationalistic propaganda to gain support and come to power, which indirectly lead to a devastating World War II. Therefore, we should analyse these historical events and educate people about the ramifications of choosing a leader based on political propaganda. Consequently, history can give us a wealth of information about our society, which can help us in inhibiting the causes which leads to utter predicaments.

Secondly, humans have existed on earth for thousands of years, beginning from a cave man to today's sophisticated being, and have seen enormous development over the time, eclectic cultures and traditions practiced and different power struggles. Thus, it is important for us to know about the history of cultures and traditions which we cherish today. When did a particular tradition start? What were the reasons which lead to this tradition? How a specific cultural tradition affect our modern lives? These are some questions which can only be answered through a thorough study of the history of that specific culture, and breaks the illusion that we different from our ancestors. For instance, in Rajasthan, India, where water is scarce, plants which require less water are cultivated. And, a lot of diverse dishes are prepared from them which are famous across the country. Therefore, studying the cultural history of Rajasthan will enable us to be informed about the history of these traditional practices, and in turn illustrate that we have a lot of commonality with our ancestors.

Lastly, in some specific scenarios and some peculiar field of study it might seem irrelevant to analyse the history, as those traditions might have been eradicated and those practices be outmoded. However, these anomalies does not outweigh the importance of studying history.