The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Teaching is sacred profession, at the same time highly complex and critical. Different people have diverse styles of teaching, some focus on the achievements, and others on the negative aspects of a student. The prompt states that a best way to teach would be to focus on the positive actions rather than the negative ones. I mostly disagree with prompt that a better of teaching would be to applaud the positive actions of a student instead of pointing out the negative ones. Following are the reasons and a concession to support this thesis.

Criticism is indispensable to growth and development, as it helps us to identify our weaker traits, which can be eradicated by putting in efforts in the right directions. And, this is trues not true just for a teacher, it is also applicable to friendship advices as well. A true friend will never sugar coat an opinion, but instead would provide you with factual and true answer, however harsh it may be. For instance, if a student in outstanding in studies and scores well in the exams, however avoids participating in sports and other extra-curricular activities, consequently hampering his or her holistic development. A good teacher will not notice this discrepancy and motivate the student to participate in extra-curricular activities as well, instead of just lionising him or her for academic achievements. Therefore, this criticism will enable the student to build other characteristics like confidence, leadership etc. which categorically help him or her in future. Thus, pointing out the shortcomings of a student are equally important as applauding him or her for the achievements.

Moreover, many a times providing a harsh feedback provides a student with realistic opinions, which might seem scathing and disrespectful in the current scenario but is fruitful in the longer run. During childhood, everything seems attainable, and we tend to ignore the pragmatic factors which responsible for success. At this time, if we are provided with the right guidance, or a reality check, this would in turn save us a ample amount of time and energy. For instance, a student who wants to purse a career in acting, but does not have the repertoire for it, might save a lot of time and energy if given a right guidance at the right time. Else his or her efforts would be futile, and saved amount of time can be utilised to ruminate over the career choices which might be suitable for him or her to pursue.

However, I also concede the fact that negative criticism can also leave a deep impact on a student, which might be detrimental for his or her mental health. Scathing feedbacks can also lead to depression and other harmful effects. Therefore, it is also important to keep this in mind that, providing criticism is pivotal but it should not fill a student with negativity and a sense of worthlessness.

Conclusively, guiding a student towards growth and development is convoluted and complex process. It is agreeable that focussing only on negative actions of a student can be toxic and devastating, however, it is paramount to for student to learn from mistakes, as well as keep a check on his or her dreams.