Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Introduction of money is always complicated, but indispensable for the growth of the field. I agree with the people who believe that government funding is crucial for art to flourish and be accessible to all. Following are the reasons and a concession to support this thesis.

Influx of capital always helps a field to burgeon, and it true for art as well. The government funds dedicated towards will allow a specific art form to grow, and moreover save the ones which are on the brink of extinction. For instance, RK Laxman Museum in Pune, showcases the eclectic and profound cartoons, as well the creative messages conveyed by them. As our society is moving towards digitalisation, contemporary artists have penchant towards drawing and sketching over the tablets or personal computers, and the former ways of sketching are fading away. However, this museum representing the history of R.K. Laxman's cartoon will remind the younger generation of the history of this specific art form, and also motivate them to keep the older methods alive. The above example illustrates that funds made available by government can be utilised in aggrandising the inclination towards art, and preserving the old heritage of specific art forms.

Moreover, money invested by government would also be utilised to provide a better platforms to the young aspiring artists, and directly supporting their journey of artistic excellence. For example, National School of Drama in New Delhi has been successful in yielding numerous luminaries in the the field of dramatics and acting. These talented people have contributed in drama across all the platforms, be it theater, movies or national television. If a the funds through government are used in enhancing the facilities in the school, which would in turn help the students in learning and becoming better actors. Consequently, the students will in turn represent the nation across world, and fill the population with proud and alacrity. This example support the assertion that the grants from government directed towards art would be highly appreciated by the field, and would in turn play a paramount role in the growth of the art form.

However, some people in some specific situations believe that introducing money in art can lead to corruption, which in turn would be detrimental for the field of art. I conceded this point, and accept that introducing money can give rise to corruption, and deviate the field from it's specific goals. But, this not specific to art only, and can happen to any field. Precluding the fund transfer based on this would be trepidation, and no developmental. There should some measures introduced to keep a check on the capital, instead of categorically denying it.

Conclusively, it is true that money can lead to some negative effects in the field of art, however, it is utterly true and substantiated with above examples that government funds will help the art culture in the nation to grow.