The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

While decreasing the supply of housing in an area will increase the prices of the homes in the area, the magnitude of an increase can vary. There are many other factors that can lead to increases to home prices besides decreasing the housing supply in an area. These factors can include the industry in an area.

The proponents of the measure base their argument on the fact that Chestnut County had established a previous measure ten years ago and the increases to the home prices were gradual over time. This arguement relies on the context regarding the measure.

Things that contribute to this context include whether there has been an increase in employment rates or population in the county compared to ten years ago. If there has been dramatic changes in population or employment, then this nullify their argument since there would be no comparison between the two situations.

Another element that would have to answer is the demographics of the county compared to those from ten years ago. If there were an increase in money in the county over the past ten years, it could explain the reason that home prices have increased rather than the decrease in housing supply. If the demographics of the county were vastly different from ten years ago, then that argument would be destroyed since it would comparing apples to oranges. The proponents of the measure must be able to show that Chestnut County has not changed significantly in the past ten years.

The opponents of the measure use the example of Pine County adoption of restrictions fifteen years as evidence against restricting the development of existing farmland in the county. This argument relies on the assumption that Pine and Chestnut county are similiar in demographics and attritubes. This assumption could be answered by looking at the changes in population between the two counties over the past fifteen years, changes in industries, changes in populations of various races, age groups and religious groups. If Chestnut count was comparable to Pine County, then the analysis regarding the increasing in housing prices could be true. However, it would not be complete with the context of the descision by Pine County to restrict farmland developments. If this context were not similiar to the current context in Chestnut county, the argument were void. The primary reason for this is because different elements of contexts can have significant impacts on homepricing. If Pine county forced to build less houses in the farmland areas, it could cause an increase in prices in the whole county since the supply would experience a negative shock and force the prices to increase.

While decreasing home supplies will increase pricing, the how much of an increase may not be know. This depends on the context of the county and other elements associated with the decrease in the supply. The context is key in determining how much the prices for housing will increase.