A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The new Captian Seafood restaurant may be profitable and popular with the people of Bay City. The argument by the author for why it would be profitable does not provide solid evidence for the profitability. Some of the assumptions in the argument could be easily used to undermine the author’s argument.

The author cites a recent sales study that indicates that the consumption of seafood dishes in Bay city resaurants has increase by thirty percent over the past five years. The types of restaurants is key to determing whether the survey is valuable to the author. This survey could be looking at restaurants who cater events, fast food restaurants, or non chain restaurant. Also, the survey does not talk about the types of people who eat the resaurants. If this survey were about resaurants that are in the same market as Captian Seafood, then the argument would be strengthen. The recent sales survey needs more details to used effectively by the author for his argument.

The nationwide study may not be valuable to the author when he is arguing for the popularility of Captian Seafood. The nation wide study could show that the majority of households do not like to go out for seafood. If Bay City families were similar to families in the nationwide survey, they would not consume more seafood and the restaurant may be unprofitable because of it. Bay City may have different demographics than those represented in the study. The study of families could have a majority of single parent households and thus make it uncomparable to the community of Bay City. The nation wide study may have a majority of the observataions from a specific geographic area that is not comparable to Bay City. This would make it also impossible to use the survey observations since the two areas are different and the families in these areas are different. The use of a nationwide by author could creates problems for his argument for Captain Seafood.

The argument for whether Captain Seafood is profitable or not should not be based on this argument. The vagueness of recent sales report and the assumption that the nationwide survey results will be the same in Bay City could be valuable or destructive to the author’s argument. A new restaurant is usually popular at its opening.