A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this paper makes a lot of assumption which is based on an undefined statistics and thus derives his conclusion that a seafood restaurant will be profitable and popular is flawed by the fact that the writer fails to analyze the reason why there haven’t been seafood restaurants. Is the paucity due to the fact that the people of Bay City prefer other sources of food or are they in an area where there is a limited supply of seafood product ?

The writer further assumes that since the people of Bay City are particular about healthy eating, this will automatically mean they would go for see food with any premise as to what other healthy sources of food are already available and what will be their preference upon the need for selection.

Although the writer’s claim that the seafood restaurant might have a case if the new seafood restaurant is only one and sells at an affordable rate within a robust menu this may not be very persuasive for the majority of households.

Additionally, the paper is flawed for many other cogent reasons not limited to the fact that the writer’s basis for a possible success in the seafood restaurant business is also built upon the fact that he/she expects that since a lot of families are two-income families and there has been a significant reduction in home-made food, hence this would allow for patronage by these families without corroborating this thought with fact and studies to identify the sustainability of these incomes with primary needs of these household and further confirming if there are other food alternatives such as office delivery, school cafeteria meal which could be very convenient.

All told, if the writer would have backed his/her claims with acute insight on the population type and food preferences of the people, the present income rate of the people and the affordability of the proposed food restaurant. Data on the sources of the present seafood consumption would put into perspective the writers claim and in turn build a very strong case.