The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While the assumptions of the argument is seemingly cogent, the author fails to explain the population make up for the public schools in the state of Calatrava. The pubic schools could be enrolled majorly by out of state student which would mean that the population rate of the school will significantly remain stable.

Additionally, the recommendation further maintains that since there is a decline in birthrate it is tantamount to a reduction of school age students within the next decades and so the there can also be reduction in funding of athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities with the hope that only the young use such facilities in isolation without use by adult which is not proven by any reliable research survey adopted by the author.

Although if it can be proven that there is a significant decline in student enrollment and overall population of students in the state based on a demographic survey then it could be a reliable suggestion to cut out fund and prioritize for the betterment of all the citizens.

Moreso, the author assumes that the funds gotten from the reduction of public school, playing fields and recreational facilities funding will be more than sufficient enough for funding of city facilities and programs used primarily by adults without data on budget allocation of the mentioned amenities.

In all, the author makes a lot of assumption that are based on on ideas not fully backed by qualitative data and thus the conclusion is flawed. Though the recommendation could have been strengthen by demographic information of the state and further strengthen by the data on the ratio of international and out of state student population to in state student ration in the respective public schools.