The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer of this paper has made come points but fails to correlation his finding on a logical part in other to affirm that Dr. Field’s conclusion was wrong.

Firstly, the sample been evaluated by the writer is not as specific in nature as the observation taken by the Dr Field who dealt with an observation of Tertia as opposed to his interview of children living in the group islands that includes Tertia amongst other groups and so indicates interference by other population and perhaps these other groups where predominantly interviewed.

Additionally, the writer has made his conclusion on an interview carried out in which he fails to address with convincing information on the type of questions asked in the interview. For instance what if the interviewee were asked about questions that had to do with abandonment and negligence by the biological parents of the children.

Furthermore, it cannot be concluded that the the observation-centered studying approach is invalid as the interviews conclusion from from respondents (children) talking about their parents does not necessarily mean they are reared by their biological parent as their answers could have been on how they were not reared by their parents in any case.

Finally, the writer has made many assumption which could be valid if he had given more information of the characteristic of interviewee in term of their group and their age and other demographic concern to give a better perspective.