The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumption prove unwarranted.

In the article, the author disputes the observation of Dr. Field that children in Tertia are reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. To buttress his conclusion, Dr. Karp conducted interviews with children living in the group of island that includes Tertia and found them talking more about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Futher Dr, Karp suggests that the observation-centered approach adopted by Dr. Field is invalid. Instead, interview-centered method used in his own research should be given more credit. While Dr. Karp's research and method may be valid to some extent, the reasoning of this article is unconvincing due to several unsubstantiated assumptions which, if proven unwarranted, could seriously challenge the author's conclusion.

To start with, the author assumes that the situation in Tertia remains unchanged during the twenty year period, or to put it more clear, that children in Tertia were raised by their biological parents twenty years ago as they do now. However, this assumption is open to doubt. Moreover, the author's interview is conducted in the group of islands including Tertia but is not particularly focused on Tertia. The underlying assumption here is that the children-rearing mechanism is the same in the group of islands, but we simply do not know. If the situation in Tertia has changed during the past twenty years or the situation on Tertia is completely different, then the author's conclusion is potentially questionable.

In addition, granted that the situation has not been influenced by time or location, the assumption that children has give reliable answers during the interview is still in doubt. Generally speaking, reactions during interviews can be influenced by many factors, such as the questions raised up be the interviewer, and the decoration in the interview room. These factors may hint the children to talk more about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. If this scenario turns out to be true, the author's conclusion that children in Tertia are reared by their biological parents is weakened.

Finally, even if we acknowledge for now that the results of the two research are comparable and that the chilren's answers during the interviews are reliable, that children are talking more about their biological parents does not equal to that they are actually reared by their biological parents. This assumption is rendered in jeopardy because the children are probably tend to talk more about their biological parents out of the special emotional link.

To draw a conclusion, the author's cconclusion might be reasonable but cannot be safely guranteed. We need to deliberately consider the validity of the aforementioned assumptions to better evaluate whether or not to accept Dr Karp's claim.