The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director o the super Screen Movie Production Company

In the memo, the advertising director of a movie production company mentioned that fewer people attended Super Screen movies last year though they were receiving more positive reviews from movie reviewers. He attributes these facts to the public's lack of awareness and further recommends the allocation of more funding to adversiting.While I sympathize with the director's enthusiasm in boosting the revenue, ther are certain questions that need to be evaluated before drawing the conclusion about whether or not to increase advertising budget.

First, we need to know whether the audience of Super Screen movies have the same taste as the movie reviewers. Or to put it more clear, movies produced by Super Screen may be welcomed among movie reviewers, but are they receiving similar compliments from the audience as well? If the audience do not like Super Screen-produced movies as professional reviews do, then the increase in advertising budget would be unnecessary, because the audience will not be more interested even if they know about the movie. On the other hand, if the audience also give the same positive reviews as movie reviewers, then it is possible that the bad financial performane is due to lack of public awareness and thus necessite more advertising budget.

Second, let's acknowledge for now that the movies produced by Super Screen are of good quality and receive positive reviews both from movie reviewers and the audience. We still need to answer the question of how many movies Super Screen produced last year compared with former years? If the Super Screeen produced less movies last year, it is natual that there was less attendance in all even though the average attendance for any one movie remain the same. If this is the case, the Super Screen should work on making more movies rather than investing in advertising.

Even if lack of public awareness of that movies produced by Super Screen of good quality is the reason behind dropping attendance, there is still a question concerning the most suitable channels for market promotion. Is advertising really the best way to promote public awareness of the movies? Many other channels, such as attending movie festivals and cooperating with popular movie stars, can also greatly stimulate public awareness, probably in a more efficient way. If other methods can promote public awareness better and cheaper than advertising, then it would be unwise to spend more money on advertising rather than the more effective ways.

In conclusion, the director's anaylsis and recommendation may be sensible but we can not make the final decision before careful consideration of the questions mentioned above.