Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

What role should the government funding play in the development of arts? Some argue that it is necessary for the flourish of art can can guarantee the availablility of art to everyone equally, while others believe that government funding will turn art creation into chasing of fame and fortune and thus harming the purity of art. My opinion is more align with the former one that government should undoubtedly fund the art the unsure its prosperity.

First, arts is central of our cultural life and will benefit the whole nation. Nothing can convey the image of a nation more vividly than a master piece of art. For example, the various sculptures from the ancient Greek show the spirits of the people even hundreds of years ago. In an age when nationwide communication becomes inevitable, arts surely can be a good way for a nation to build its image and spread to the whole world.

Moreover, arts play an essential role in the nuturing of imagination and creaticity, especially of the next generation. Imagine a child who sees a painting in a museum depicting the mysterious night sky. The child is deeply attracted and grows interest in the outside world. He may turn to a poet, an astronaut, or a physics scientst in the future to further fullfill his curiosity and all of these originiate in the painting he sees in the museum.In fact, governments all over the would are beginning to realize the value of art eudcation and are investing time and human resources to build galleries, museums and art schools.

However, on the other side, people worry about the detrimental effects government funding may have on arts because they may hinder the free expression of art by appraising the works more aligned with the values the government advocates. I would like to argue that these drawbacks can be effectively avoided with careful design of regulations and the supervision of social media. We have to admit that even the artists who pursue the altimate value of pure art would have to more or less rely on his or her works to make a living. If the government do not step out to take the responsibility of cultivating arts, then the market force will take place. Looking aourd our movie theatres and bookstores, we can all see the consequence of market selection. Our cultural and entertainment life is filled with works of bad taste that will fade in several months.

In conclusion, I support the claim that government should fund arts to encourage its production and propogation. These measures will benefit the society with benefits outweighing the disadcantages.