The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

With the wide spread notion that punishing is not an encourage method of teaching, there is a claim that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. While I generally agree with the claim that we should try to be more protective in teaching, I tend to argue that criticizing is also necessary when children perform some negative actions that cannot be tolerated.

To start with, it is commonly accepted that children will adjust their behaviors according to the consequences. When they find out that certain positive actions will generate praise and other kinds of rewards that can make they happy, they will be inclined to perform them more frequently. However, opnions differ when it concerns children's negative actions. In most cases, I agree that we should try to be more tolerate in order to protect the curiosity and self-esteem of children. More often than not, children do not break the rules deliberately. Instead, they simply do not realize that it is unproper to perform such actions and they will naturally find out what is permitted and what is not when they grow order. For example, should we blame a 4-year-old child for taking apart the expensive watch of his father The child's action is simply driven by his cuiosity and he is still in an age not understanding the concept of value. It would be unfair to blame the child for something he has done unpurposely and it would also be detrimental to his exploring spirits.

However, I have to point out that in certain circumstances, it is important that educators, whether parents or school teachers, make it clear to children that some negative actions are totally not acceptable. Let's imagine a case in which a child is bullying another child younger than he is. In such circumstance, parents or school teacher certainly should not simply ignore the situation and expect that the problem will somehow magically disappears by itself. What parents or teachers should do is to immdediately stop such behaviours and conduct a serious conversation with the bullying child.

Based on the discussion above, I believe that we can not hastily draw a conslusion about what to do with children's negative behaviours. The best answer we can give would be: teaching methods should be based on the characteristics of the children and also the environment. The guiding principle is not to be too harsh on the unpurposely mistakes while also using proper methods to teach children about ethics.

To draw a conclusion, I agree with the claim that when teaching we should prasie positive actions while ignoring negative ones in most cases with the prerequisite that the negative actions are not untolerable or even evil.