Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The argument support the gurantee of financial support to marjor cities, based on the reason that a nation's cultural traditions are primirily preserved in cities. From my point of view, cities play a center role in the development of a nation and should get enough financial support to thrive, but it is simply not true that it is cities that preserve the most of a nation's precious cultural traditions.

First, the major cities do have critical impact on the economic, social and also cultural development of surrounding areas and even the whole nation. To support this argument, we need to revisit the orgin and function of a city. A city is where production factors, including people, capital, technology agregate. Because of the concentration of all the factors, cities have more factories, shopping malls, residence blocks, train stations and all kinds of modern facilities that make the creative activites of human being easier. Therefore, cities, expecially the mega-cities, such as Tokyo in Japan and New York in the USA, can greatly support the growth of the whole nation and should no doubt be guranteed the necessary financail support in order to suivive.

Though I admit that majors cities should receive the financial support from the nation, I can not agree with the reason that cultural tradition's are basically preserved in nation. The achievement of cultures from the rural area should not be neglected. All kinds of art and literature can be mentioned here to examplify the important role countries play in a nation's cultural development: folk musics, folk stories, paintings and sculptures created by anonymous country artists, and so on.

Last but not least, it would be unfair to devote even more financial support to major cities when major cities generally possess more resource than countries and are already developing faster than countries. There are still many countries in the third world where living conditions are endangered and are in the urgent need for the country's financial support to build basic infrastructure including road, electricity supply and clean drinking water system. It would be too crual to turn down the urgent need of the country people with the excuse of culture preservation and generation in wealthy major cities.

In conclusion, both cities and countries are important in the development of a nation's culture, as well as economics and society. Therefore, we should try to strike a balance of resource allocation between them rather than hastily regard any of them to be negligible.