The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership

Nowadays we seem to face a society with both more intense competition and more opportunities to cooperate. The intense competition can be attributed to the explosive of human population and limited recource. On the other hand, with the development of knowledge and technology, it is becoming less possible for any of us to be an expertise in all fields thus leading to the necessity of cooperration. Which criteria should be given more weigh to in the growth of young people? I tend to give my support to cooperation.

First, through cooperation we can bring together the expertise, experience and creativity of more people and therefore achieving greater success. Modern society is operating in a more cooperative way, in which everyone is responsible for only a small fraction of the whole task and have rely on the power of others to realize the goal of the team. If we look at the organization of basically any company or government instituition, we can find there are people specialize in information system, data analysis, words processing, financial resource allocation and also management. Thus, it is necessary to prepare young people with the skills of cooperation so that they can become successful leaders to perform in a complicated organization composed of people with different background.

However, some may dispute my views, drawing attention to the frastrating fact that we are actually faced with more intense competition than ever before. They argue that it is irresponsible not to instill our young generation with a notion of competition before throwing them into a wild jungle where they won't fit in well and can not survive. Consistent this argument may seem with the reality, I have to point out that competition has undoubtedly always been part of our human society but it is also important how we trackle with it.

More often than not, competition does not mean that only one side wins and takes away all of the rewards. Instead, it means the parties in the competition has different interest but they finally arrive at a compromise to make everyone feel comfortable. For example, countries in the Europe used to compete with each other for critical resources and even broke into wars. When they realized that such competition is not actually good for anyone, they sat down to draw a plan towards the construction of the European Union. Does this cooperation mean that the countries give away all of their differences and do not compete with each other anymore? Probably not. But does this cooperation benefit all of the countries? Definitely yes. And this is only one example in how cooperation has more benefits than competition in almost all kinds of relationship.

In conlusion, both cooperation and competition exists in our society and I believe for the better development of future leaders, we should put more focus on cooperation rather than competition.