The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the letter, the author attirbutes an individual's levels of stimulation to the effects of birth order. To buttress his/her claim, the author cites two studies concerning rhesus monkeys and also human infants. Though the reason provided by the author may account for the cortisol level generated in different individuals, I would like to argue that there are other factors that can contribute to such differences. Neither can we safely assert that one factor alone is responsible for the results observed in the experiments.

To start with, let's take a look at the first experiment concerning eighteen rhesus monkeys. We can notice that order of birth is probably not the only difference between the tested monkeys. The most obvious factor that could influence the results of the experiment is that the firstborn monkey is older than its siblings. Generally speaking, older monkeys tend to have bigger mass and consequently would generate more hormone cortisol. It is also likely that the firstborn monkey is better feed, or even better trained to react to stimulations. We can not decide which factor is account for the different cortisol levels among the eighteen monkeys in stimulating situations since we are not informed of how they are brought up and we also do not know whether they are potentially different in ways other than their birth order.

In addition, the author also provide information about an experiment in which firstborn humans produce high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations. Even if we acknowledge for know that age or weight will not influence cortisol levels, the firstborn babies may be more reactive to stimulations such as the return of a parent after an absence because they have spent longer period with their parents and have developed a closer relationship with their parents. It is quite understandable that the babies will be more excited about the reunion with a parent if they are more emotionally attached to their parents.

Finally, the author mentioned another study demonstrating that first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol. This situation is also open to different explanations. The first-time monkeys may be more nervous about pregnance compared with those wo had had several offspings and are not fully prepared mentally and physically. If this is the case, then it is the emotional conditions that is responsible for higher levels of cirtisol rather than birth order.

To draw a conclusion, while the reasoning given by the author might be reasonable, there are also other explanations that could rival the one provided by the author. We would need to carefully considerate all the possible explanations before deciding which is the most compelling one.