The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal."A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author wants to introduce the case about a recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual’s levels of stimulation. But I have a different view with this author. There are some reasons in the following paragraphs.

First of all, there is no enough sample for these monkeys. It means only eighteen rhesus monkeys have these effects look like that. Eighteen monkeys are cannot get this answer for all monkeys.

Secondly, this statement claims that the study showed that in stimulating situations, first born infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, with primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. But it cannot prove this point, even if when a little body monkey grows to bigger is this level hormone cortisol.

Thirdly, this statement claim firstborn human also produce a relatively high level of cortisol in stimulating situations. At first, there are not give the source, which research reports can prove this view. In addition, even if from this monkey prove to this opinion but monkey still different from human.

Finally, this statement claims the study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring. There are too many uncertain factors in the whole study. We still do not know the researcher how to control variables in research. No matter whether it is the pregnancy first time, the monkey is firstborn, the different monkeys have different responses to different forms of stimulation. If he changes to other monkeys, he might find there are not higher levels of cortisol.

To recapitulate the author argues the author's argument is based on a loose argument. Also, there is no specific evidence to corroborate the claim. He should improve his way to study these monkeys. He should offer more rigorous articles.