The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument concludes that the birth order affects the individual's level of stimulation. The conclusion is based on the premise that first born infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol which primes the body for increased activity level as do their younger siblings, first born humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situation and also first-time mother monkeys has higher levels of cortisol comparing to those who had several offspring. This argument is based on assumptions which should be discussed about and to be proved; otherwise the it is flawed and cannot be accepted.

First the argument relates the high level of cortisol in first born monkeys to the high level of stimulation. The prompt has not mentioned if this biologic compound is the only material responsible for stimulation in animals and in human being. The body is a complex of many biochemical materials which act at the same time and the animal and human response is the overall reaction to all these compounds. There are chemicals and neurotransmitters such as dopamine, serotonin, epinephrine or norepinephrine which all are stimulants and boost excitement and activity and their level in blood and nervous system causes different physical and psychological reactions in body. There are also other bio-compounds which can act reversely and decrease the level of activity and stimulation such as endorphins. The argument has not mention if any of these material also have been considered and their blood level examined during the examination.

On the other hand, body responses are the reaction of biochemical and neurotransmitters and their corresponding receptors on cell membranes. The argument has mentioned the increase level of cortisone in first born monkey and children as the cause of higher level of stimulation but hasn't mentioned if the level of response to these compounds at the level of cell membranes and receptors also accommodates to this higher level of cortisone. The effects of insulin levels in diabetes can be a good example to elucidate the case. In IDDM or type 1 of diabetes the level of insulin is low and this is the cause of disease but opposite to this, the level of insulin in the other kind of diabetes, NIDDM or type 2 of the disease is not low at all. Actually it is the unresponsiveness of the receptors that causes the same symptoms of the malady in patients.

The last thing to consider is that the argument refers to the high level of cortisol in first gravid pregnant mother monkeys and infant monkeys as the cause of higher level of stimulation in first born. But the argument doesn't mention if it has followed the high level of this substance all through growing stages of life and other ages. It is possible that this higher of cortisol is only limited the time of pregnancy and infanthood and doesn't continue into adulthood.

To conclude the talk, if the argument could show that it had considered the level of receptor responses on cell membrane level, the continuation of higher level of cortisone during other stages of life and could prove the cortisol as the only cause of stimulation in monkeys and human or have considered and calculated the level of other substances causing activity and stimulation in these creatures, the argument could be logically acceptable. Otherwise it is flawed and faulty and naturally refuted.