xxx

The prompts broaches the idea of necessitating college and university faculties to work outside their academic world, in the fields they teach and use the experience provided in their teaching. To talk about such necessity which looks tempting, we have to consider some points first.

There is no doubt, that it is important for the faculty to be accustomed and familiar to the fields they teach. becoming accustomed and specialized in their field will surely result a better outcome and increase their teaching ability. such knowledge and deft comes from years of their experience in teaching and practice. If the faculty have experienced a period of skill-acquiring courses in that specific field, this will surely help them to increase their teaching ability and to hone their capabilities. this can be performed through a period of working in that field or it can also be accomplished by observational courses outside the academic space in that field. for example someone who teaches environmental subjects can step into natural reserves an participate in environmental activities or he/she can do observational courses and add to his knowledge and experience.

The faculty are teaching student whom are going to pursue a career in that specific field, their studying in. If the faculty are familiar to the work atmosphere, the needs and obligations, it will surely help the faculty to convey such experience and knowledge to their students. For example a faculty in engineering will surely be more helpful and instructive if he/she can inform the student what will they encounter in their job, how they should prepare for it and be ready for. Working outside the university in the field or going to see how thing goes on there, will help them to transfer such information to their students.

We have to mention that all college subjects of study are not field oriented. some subjects discuss abstract issues and are confined to academic areas. these fields of study such as abstract mathematics or logic have nothing to do outside the university and working outside the academic venue does not have a meaning for these faculty. Except for these subjects, other academics will surely benefit from periods of acquiring experience outside colleges and universities, inside the working field. This can be done by working in that field or passing observational courses in such venues. Sabbaticals are examples provided in some universities for faculties to acquire experience in their field of study.