Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

The consequences of a scandal on society can be multifarious. It can have both positive and negative effects on the community. So declaring solely that a scandal is useful or not is an equivocal comment and cannot encompass all aspect of such situation.

Scandals especially those happening in big scale in a society would possibly bring pandemonium to that society. In the ideal state it would be much rational for the laws and regulation to be so strict and watchful enough to preclude shaping such scandals. Consider a misuse of power by a president or fraud and falsification in results of an election. Such mishap could have such catastrophic consequence for the society that its negative results can remain in the subconscious of that society and hurt. This was what happened in 2009 Iranian presidential election. The scandal in tallying the votes brought chaos and bedlam to urban societies with so many rallies and protests. Some were incarcerated, others lost their life in aimless shootings in street, and now after more than a decade after all those happening there is still a deep scar in the subliminal layers of society, not re mediated yet.

On the other hand scandals are sensitive issues. It needs subtlety and great care to deal with. Usually media take advantage of something that might be a scandal but not even proven yet. Then you would see newspaper columns filled with rumors around the case and radio programs talking all the time about it. The scandal which aspects of it not elucidated yet and even sometimes the entire issue not proven, captures the headlines and infuses the society with a false kind of excitement. Just imagine if after a while the case shows to be otherwise, who is going to recompense for the injuries and suffering, the news has brought about, both for the society and for those alleged in the scandal. Don’t you think some of the cases in the challenge of "Me Too" has not been as serious and as true as they have been relayed with such enthusiasm and devoted excitement?

The word scandal brings with it excitement and inflammation. Such emotional arousal can be deleterious for the stability and peace of mind in society. Scandals may sometimes bring injuries for the individual and the community which might be much difficult to recover. So I believe it is much better to change the word for "scandal" to simply a "case issue" which those who are responsible, can work on it without prejudice and bias, and without injecting a false and detrimental feeling of excitement into the mind and feelings of the society.