over the past year ,our late- night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. during this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition , local business that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues , we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level

The argument concludes that the television station should increase the time devoted to weather and local news to its previous level to attract more viewers. the conclusion is based on the premise that during the past year late nigt news program has devoted more time to national news and less to weather and local new, during which most of the complaints from viewers were concerned over the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition the local business advertisement has lessened during this tim. This argument is based on assumptions that are not necessarily true and ignoring them in the discussion would lead us to fault and flaw.

first of all we should consider that viewers calling and complaing of a subject or other are not necessarilly representative of the whole community whatching TV. there might me a majority who agree with the present broadcasting program. and because of this, they don't call to complain. To deduce the amount of satisfaction of viewers, the managers need to collect data through a bias free data-gathering procedure to accumulate all opinions and ideas about the subject.

the other assumption wich infers that the decrease of local business advertisement in the TV program is because of less weather an local news is also flawed. business advertisement, the increase and decrease of it and any decision about it is dependant on many factors which we should consider. Businesses consider many parameters in decision making. where to advertise and where not. the economic situation of the business, the long term policies of the business are among these parameters. It is also good to note that instability in decision making and changing the program schedule and policy every other day, might cause more dissatisfaction and lead to more audience loss. Additionally iIf viewers feel that there is no stability in the policy of the television program this is a negative hint that audience would feel and react to it unhappily.

If the business managers of the television station could achieve an acceptable data connecting the decrease in weather and local news to the decrease in local business advertisement and prove that the viewers concerned with the coverage of the programs are the true reflection of the whole population watching the television station, the conclusion would be more acceptable. otherwise the argument is prone to shortcoming and flaws and it is not logically approvable.