The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

Over the past year, our late night news programme has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaint received from viewers were concerned with our stations coverage of weather and local news. In addition, locla businesses that use to advertise during our late night news have just cancelled their advertising contract with us. Therefore, in other to attract more viewers to the prograame a nd to avoid loosing any further advertising revenue, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum, the manager of the television station conjectures the restoration of dilated time for weather and local news in order to increase the bouyancy of the revenues generated from advertisement by the station. While this may be a good argument, however, the manager based his argument on fallacious evidences - the complaints received has been on weather and local news; local business that used to advertise have now reneged on their advertisement promises - that make the argument imponderable. Meanwhile, however, to evaluate the argument, the following evidences must be re-accessed.

To start with, the manager avers that, most of the complaints received has been based on their station's coverage of weather and local news, but he fails to inform about the nature of the complaints. For example, It may be possible that the most of this complaints has been concerned with the expression of satisfaction on the current state of adjustment by the station. It is also may be the case that, this complaints are concerned with the new anchorer of this program which does not seem audience appealing when compared to the previous presenter. Whatever the case, the manager need to provide evidence that challenges such stands in order to analyze his argument.

Even if the above evidence is a nugatory, what hapen to the assumption of the manager about the local businesses who now discontinues their advertisement contracts. The manager did not provide the number of local businesses who discontinue their contracts, this make his argument to be difficult to analyze. For instance, it is possible that, the number of local bussiness who put a stop to their advertisement contracts are few, or even more, but how does the author expect that such evidence will hold true by presenting such vague assertion as "Local Businesses" when this can just mean two businesses. Again, the manager here assumes that, they discontinue the contracts because of the changes in the number of time that the station allocate for the transmission of weather and local news, however, this may not be the case, for instance, it is possible that there is an unfavourable governmental policy that recently outbroke that lead to exodus of many businesses. Therefore, if the author fails to analyze such evidences further, his argument will not hold water.

Finally, in the conclusion of the manager, the authors stated that, there is only one single approach to increasing the station's revenue and the number of views and that is to restore the time allocated for the coverage of weather and local news. This is dubious! The author continue to use vague assertion, for instance, the author mention that, there will be an overall increase in the number of viewers when this is single time is restored. But the manager did not inform us about the number of viewers the station has had in the past, and how such complaints has also led to the decrease in the number of veiwers. He also did not inform about how he arrived at such result of number of views. It is possible that, the station did not in anyway suffer lesser view and if this is the case, then the authors evidences most further weakens his argument.

In conclusion, as it stands now, the author's argument is severely flawed with weak evidences. However, to strenghtens the author's argument, the weakness pointed out in the above evidences - what the complaints is exactly about; the manager's vague assertion of 'local businesses' which may mean more than few; the reason why local businesses discontinue their contracts; must be critically considered and strengthened.