The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen

Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer

people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the

percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies

actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not

reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of

our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are

available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to

reaching the public through advertising.”

The memo makes a number of unwarranted statements, which if holds true could make the argument invalid.

The production company claims that fewer people attended their movies and yet they got higher percentage of positive reviews. The passage does not mention what type of movies they make. Are they romantic,comedy, or thriller? It could be that the type of movies they make are getting better but the audiences of those movies are decreasing. For example: Super screen producers make romantic comedy movies and they are getting better by the year but the number of people those who watch this kind of movie are decreasing. Hence, they should properly asses this before moving forward.

Furthermore, they state contents of the reviews are not reaching enough viewers. how are they certain that this is the case? Maybe it reaches the people but they are still not interested in the movie they make. For example: If a historical movie, no matter how great it is, how many good reviews it gets, if one does not like historical movies then he will not watch it,Period. There is no mention in the passage that the good reviews does not reach enough people or that they make movies that more people will watch. Before allocating greater budget for advertising, they should ask themselves "Are we making the films people really watch?"

The passage made a lot of unstated assumption, which if not answered, might tear the argument apart.