In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

For a progress to materialize, many factors and elements have to come together and collaborate. Different fields and subjects, according to their nature and characteristics, might need a range of prerequisites to flourish and reach better result. Discussion and holding discourse is among factors of progress in a number of these fields.

In some fields in academics, jobs or politics, discussion can have a critical role. In parliaments, commissions and assemblies around the globe, people convene to share their ideas and sentiments to reach a decent conclusion or agreement upon which new bills are passed and better condition can be sought. Constitutions in democratic nations are the result of shared opinions of elites gathering delicately to discuss and share their experiences and ideals to chart a better future for their society and country. This has been true all through the history from far in the past when cavemen took shelter in the evening, after their arduous day of foraging in the bush to share their observations and plan for their next day's search and hunt. And has continued all through the millennia and centuries till now which governments come together in United Nation or other international conferences to discuss about the most important global matters such as peace or environmental remits such as global warming. But is discourse the absolute requisite of progress in all fields and subjects?

Many fields of study such as metaphysics and literature are more individual based. Although discourse in these fields can also be productive and helpful for students and researchers. So you can see peripatetic pupils of Aristotle walking with him for hours between the trees in the garden to discuss logic and philosophy, but on the other hand you can see others reaching enlightenment and edification by taking refuge in austerity and isolation such as Buddha beneath the tree or Muhammad the prophet in the cave and changing the world afterward. Heidegger the great existentialist philosopher shaped the gist of his ideas and concepts by walking lonely in the black forest, South Germany or Firdausi the great lyric poet of Persia wrote his great book of Shahnameh describing antiquated Iranian myths and legends during his 30 years of solitude in his far-flung home village around city of Tabas, Khorasan.

And now we are in the age of technology and internet. Researcher and academics can reach for copious sources of data and information inside the net through websites and webpages. Here also discussion has opened its way through webinars and social media. Many come here to discuss and share ideas but on the other hand you might not be the guy of that type. You can benefit a lot by perusing over Wikipedia and other information based websites or browse through YouTube to find anything you might need without any need to talk to anybody.

Before ending the discourse I would like to broach another related point: does discussion with anybody at any time necessarily lead to more decent results. For a great decision to make, it is important to determine whom you are discussing to and under what circumstances you are doing so. Malevolent and obstreperous consultants have a distinctive place in history of rule and royalty. Those who with their malicious or sometimes wrong counseling's did great harms to their majesty or the people.

Holding discourses around topics decision-making has a particular role in improve results by sharing an assortment of ideas and sentiments but this is might not be true in all occasions, anytime, anywhere and with any one. A sharp mind decides when to consult, what topic to discuss about and with whom to share opinions with.