In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

With the democratic principle and the Internet, today’ society has unprecedented need and opportunity for discussion in all areas. Nevertheless, in the following It shall be argued that discussion is not always needed for progress and can be counter-productive.

Admittedly, discussion can be beneficial and even necessary to achieve significant progress. Due to the limited intellectual capacity of human beings, individuals and groups are rarely able to consider all necessary factors when required to take action. In this sense, discussion with opposing groups can often offer productive criticism to improve upon the measure in question or provide alternatives better suited in lights of disregarded details or in the bigger picture. As such, it has become common practice in the IT industry for leading companies to form consortia in several areas to discuss and compromise on industry standards in order to ensure consistent progress and avoid a flood of proprietary solutions In turn, consumers today often benefit from standardized connectors like USB to charge and connect their phones and other portables, protocols that enable devices to communicate with each other via WiFi and Bluetooth among numerous other industry norms. Therefore, discussion can often facilitate superior and more efficient solutions.

However, in some cases discussion are not necessarily required to achieve progress. Innovation and groundbreaking inventions are good examples of progress that can be produced without discussion of opposing factions. Instead, a single individual can produce progress as in numerous cases of achievements of prominent scientists such at Gutenberg’s printing press, the discovery of penicillin or a plethora of other pioneering and ingenious achievements in history. Likewise, the Pythagorean Theorem is a fundamental concept in geometry and a significant and genuine progress made within the field of math, the theorem itself did not result by discussion with opposing viewpoints. In other words, the theorem was a genuine work of one individual’s great mind. Accordingly, discussion is not always necessary and thus disagreement to the claim is justified under certain cases.

Notwithstanding the fact that strong arguments can be made in favor but also against the stated claim, a disagreeing stance seems more favorable considering the potential for loss of productivity inherent to debates. In many cases, discussions revolve around different opinions and uncertain aspects which cannot be clearly determined in their probability. As a result, debates can perpetuate indefinitely and not come to a conclusive outcome. In other words, debates can stall progress. This is especially significant in situations where time is critical and decisions have to be made in due time and can become even more problematic if it is believed that debate is claimed to be a necessary procedure in any case. Filibusters can be taken as a case in point for this line of thought. With a lack of a time limit for debates, the parliamentary procedure to prevent measures by dragging out speeches, filibusters have been employed several times in different countries to varying success. One of the more prominent cases in history was US senator Strom Thurmond who spoke more than 24 hours nonstop against the Civil Rights Act of 1957. In light of this potential to be inconclusive or even counterproductive, it is plausible to disagree that discussion is always required in any case.

In sum, although it seems like discussion can often be beneficial and even necessary, it is also apparent that this is not always the case and thus disagreement with the given statement reasonable.