In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Progress can come from many areas. It comes from the innovation of an individual while other times it comes from the cooperation of two contrasting parties. Many think that the only way to create progress on any situation is thru the act of mediatation between two parties. While this idea may work in many areas of life, it does not work in every situation. There are many situations where progress cannot be found in discussion among people who have opposing views.

One of situations where discussion amongst people who disagree is unfruitful for progress is when there is a power imbalance between two parties. An example of this occurred during the steel mill strike during the industrial revolution. When Andrew Cagernie meet with the works of his steel mills, he held a significant amount of power compared to strikers who opposed him since he had more resources than they did and he controlled the factories that they were striking at. An another example is when an official is talking with a basketball player during a game. The official has the ultimate control in terms of the game since he has the power to remove the player from the game if he wishes to.This will force the argument to be one sided with the official dictating the terms of the progress rather than having a debate about their merits. A discussion between two parties that disagree when one party holds a significant more power over the other will not result in progress since one party holds all the cards.

Armed conflicts is a situation where discussion between opposing sides is not required to create progress. The British tried this tatic when they discussed with Nazi Germany the terms of a nonaggression pact provided that the Nazi received the Rhineland from France. The Nazi invaded Poland shortly afterwards and began their conquest of the world. The British went on to have to defeat Nazi Germany before any peace talks between the Axis and Allied nations could occur. During the war, the soldiers on both sides where more concerned about killing the other person than having a discussion about how to improve relations between their two nations. War and combat is an event where discussion between sides with different interests do not create progress.

Progress marches on in many ways. Sometimes it needs many people and sometimes it takes a few. In the end, progress does not require the collaboration of two groups with vastly different views.