A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The adoption of shelter animals is a noble task. Finding ways to decrease heart disease is equally as noble. The argument that the first causes the second could be problematic. It relies on unstated and stated assumptions that would not hold up if the evidence contradicted them. The survey in the first sentence and the assumption that having a pet will decrease heart disease in people who already have heart problems are two examples of this.

The first potential pitfall of the argument is the survey they use in the first sentence. The study could be looking at people who already have heart problems. If this were true, then the argument would be buttressed by this information. This study could be problematic for the argument if it focused on a different group. If the surey only looked at young adults who do not have heart disease, then the survey would not be useful. The survey could be based in another country. The survey could have biased results. In fact, it would be foolish to incorporate if it did not fit the context of the argument. The reason for this is because the survey results would not applicable to the issue. The importance of the context of the survey is key to the author’s argument.

The second assumption is that pets will decrease heart disease for those who have it. This assumption is could make or break the argument. If the author provided additional evidence on this assumption, this assumption would be used to strengthen the argument. An example of this type of evidence would be a study on the effect animals had a patience who had heart problems. This study should be focus in a the same area of the country that the Sherwood hospital is based. However, if this assumption were false, it would wreck the whole argument from the author. If evidence came out that pets did not decrease heart disease in humans who already had it, then this would destroy the entire argument. The unsaid assumption that pets could decrease the heart disease in patiences who have heart problems already is a huge assumption. This assumption could make or break the argument.

Adoption of a shelter animals is important past-time. Discovering ways to lower the risk of heart disease can save countless lives. These two noble causes may not be correlated with each other. This fact would have to decided by the evidence in the survey in the first sentence. It would also be decided by evidence supporting the assumption that pets will decrease heart disease in patients who already have hurt problems.