A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a recent study, a statement has been made which is that people who has pets are tend to live longer, healthier than people who doesn’t have pets and Sherwood hospital have to form a partnership with Sherwood Animal shelter to initiate adopt a dog program. The conclusion is made on the assumptions that human beings who have pets are having less heart disease than people who doesn’t have any pets. However, after more light is shed on the issue and more detailed facts are concerned, lack of answers through the argument leads to question its validity.

First of all, how accurate is the study? In other words, did the study include all the people or only few? Maybe study included people who are having heart disease and not having pets and people who are having pets and not having any heart problems. In other words, there is a possibility that people with pets are having heart problems. Maybe people with no pets have lived longer than people who have pets. If the above mentioned assumption is true then the argument is weakened.

Secondly, how is having a dog related to reducing the incidence of heart disease? Having a dog might make a person morally happy but how a dog can stop getting a heart ache to his owner. It is possible that dog can make person healthy as it plays around and human plays with the dog. But that doesn’t mean there is no chance of getting heart disease, If the above scenario is merit, then the argument doesn’t hold water.

Finally, how can having a dog can treat the person’s heart disease? In other words, how can a dog make a person stop going to his or her ongoing treatment? It might be possible that dog keeps person happy but that doesn’t mean he or she gets cured just because he is happy. If dogs can heal a disease related to heart then what is the use of doctors in the society.

To conclude, the argument, stands as of now is considerably flawed. However, if the author provides answers to the above mentioned questions and offers more evidence, then the argument can be possible evaluated.