Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The station manager of KICK in Medway suggests that KICK should include call-in advice programs to gain a larger audience share in it‘s listening area. This conclusion is based on the assumption of recent success for WCQP and result of national wide survey which states that many radio listeners are interested in these types of programs. However, after more light is shed on the issue and more detailed facts are concerned, lack of answers through the argument leads me to question its validity.

First of all, just because WCQP’s has been success does that mean that every broadcaster can be successful while implementing call-advice programs? It might be possible that people living in Rockville are more enthusiastic in radio than in Medway. Maybe there is no space for entertainment rather than radio in Rockville. Blindly following someone because they were successful in some area is a bad option, if the above mentioned scenario is true, then the argument is weakened.

Secondly, how accurate is the survey? In other words, people who voted in the survey, just because they were interested do that mean they are willing to stop their work and listen to the advice program? It is possible that people who participated in the survey have an option which includes a program which they are not familiar with or they don’t like it. For the sake of answering they might have answered the advice program. If the above scenario holds merit, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, is the scenario same since 2 years? Before 2 years audience in the Rockville has increased rapidly. But is the number increasing now too? It might be possible that because of the new program people were ardent about it and listened the radio. Maybe now people are monotonic about it and they are finding for something new. If the above scenario is true then the argument is not strengthened.

To conclude, the argument, stands as of now is considerably flawed. However, if the station manager provides answers to the above mentioned questions and offer more evidence then the argument can be possibly evaluated.