A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

COnclusion: Regular dental care is not helping to prevent decaying of tooth.

Assumption: children living in the himalayan doesnt have where peopleof us has

Himalayan no consultation where US consults

Unstated: How organised are children of 2 diff areas like do they brush regularyy?

Do children eat chocolates more in US than in nepal

How accurate is the study

In a recent study, it is stated that visiting a dental care for children is not helping to prevent a tooth decay. This conclusion is made on the assumption that children living in the Himalayan region of Nepal doesn't have any tooth problems and they won't consult a dentist where children in sub urban areas of USA consult a dentist and even then they have tooth decaying problems. However, after more light is shed on the issue and more detailed facts are concerned, lack of answers through the argument, makes me to question its validity.

First of all, how accurate is the study? In other words, did the survey took the inputs from all the children or only specific children. It might be possible that survey chose the wrong children because they might have taken the answers from the children who are not suffering in Nepal and kids who are suffering in the USA. If the above mentioned scenario is merit, then the argument is weakened.

Secondly, how organized are children in Nepal and in USA. It is possible that Nepal children are taking good care of their teeth whereas children of USA might not. Perhaps, Nepal children are brushing thrice in a day whereas USA children maybe brushing only once. If the above assumption is true, then the argument doesn't hold water.

Finally, do children eat more chocolate in USA than in Nepal? Maybe kids in USA have different varieties of chocolate whereas Nepal people doesn't have. If this true, then it can be the reason for tooth decaying problems of the kids in USA.

To conclude, the argument, which stands as of now, is considerably flawed. However, if more evidence is offered and answers to the above mentioned questions are provided then the argument can be evaluated.