The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy — and generate additional tax revenues — is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell, it is mentioned that best way to ameliorate the Hopewell’s economy and generate additional tax revenues it to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean view. The conclusion is made on the assumptions that building of municipal golf course and resort hotel in Ocean View 2 years ago has increased the tourism and tax revenue rose by 30%. However, after more light is shed on the issue and more detailed facts are concerned, lack of answers through the argument leads me to question its validity.

First of all, is the scenario same since 2 years? The building of golf course and resort hotel happened 2 years ago and the business has increased. But it might be possible that people were interested in golf at that time but now they might not be so interested about golf. Maybe, people’s mindset has changed in the last 2 years. Perhaps, people are now inclined to other sport rather than golf. If the above scenario holds merit, then the argument is weakened.

Secondly, did the revenue increased because of the golf and resort or is it because of the new business? It can be possible that as new business were set up in that are people started coming to see the new business rather than coming for the golf or to the resort hotel. Maybe business from the new ventures was the sole reason for the increase in tourism rather than the golf. If the above assumption is true, then the argument doesn’t hold water as it is deceiving.

Finally, is the condition of Ocean View and Hopewell the same? In other words, do the people of Ocean view and Hopewell think alike? Just because it worked with the people of Ocean View that doesn’t mean it can be worked in any other tourist place. It might be possible that the building the golf in Hopewell exacerbates the situation of that city.

To conclude, the argument, stands as of now is considerably flawed. However if the mayor provides more answers to the above mentioned questions and offers more evidence, then the argument can be evaluated.