The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy — and generate additional tax revenues — is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument proposes to build a golf course and resort similar to the one in the nearby town Ocean View which is believed to improve the town’s economy just like it did in the town of Ocean View. Close examination of the assumptions reveals that they cannot lend credible support to the conclusion.

Firstly, the author wholly assumes that the conditions in the town of Hopewell are similar to that to the town of Ocean View, which is fallacious as their no evidence provided to support any kind of similarity between the two towns. The geographical, economic, and political conditions of one town might be different from the other. Building a golf course and resort similar to the one in the town Ocean View might not be advantageous to the town Hopewell.

Secondly, is the establishment of the resort hotel and the golf course solely the reason for economical boom in the town of Ocean View? This assumption of the author doesn’t seem plausible. The author talks about the golf course and the resort hotel which was built two years ago, is it not possible that the variations around the town in these two years also made a contribution to the town’s economy. Besides, there is no proof provided by the author that the rise in the tax revenues is the result of the construction of the golf course and the hotel. The other factors which may be involved in the economic growth of the OceanView town are obscured. Accordingly, the author should look thoroughly into the aspects contributing to the economy of the town of Ocean view.

Thirdly, since the author is going through this whole building process to enhance the town’s economy, does the town has funds to support the construction of the golf course and the resort? It can be implied from the author’s argument that the economy of the town of Hopewell isn’t doing so well. Accordingly, more information about the economy of Hopewell is required to ensure the credibility of the construction.

To sum up, the author fails to substantiate his claim that building a golf course and resort will contribute to the town’s economy. To reinforce it, the author would have to do thorough research to discover the aspects that lead to the economical benefit of the Ocean View town. Additionally, he would have to present the evidence that supports his claim that building the golf course and the resort will be beneficial to this town as well. Moreover, the author must provide evidence that the town of Hopewell can afford this construction. Therefore, if the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been more thorough and plausible.