In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

"A journey of thousand miles begins with a single step", with each step man has acquired knowledge about the ways of nature, chemistry, geometry, arithmetic, biology, music, physics, communication, literature, banking, astronomy, etc. Since ancient times, man has made remarkable advancement in the field of inventions. From commuting by foot to the invention of bullet trains man has done a commendable job innovating his life. Today we're using devices and services we never even imagined. Who would've imagined communicating with one another from a continent away would be made possible.

I disagree that in most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge. For instance, A person can imagine making a jetpack, but the prerequisite for making a jetpack is the knowledge of laws of physics, thrust, engineering, and mathematics. Just imagining yourself in the sky with a jetpack won't help you build it. Acquiring knowledge is what survival in the world has been all about. The lessons that our ancestors learned were passed on to us in the form of books, engravings, paintings, etc. The learned engineers, like Nicholas Tesla, Physicists like Issac Newton, Mathematicians like G.H. Hardy, writers like Shakespeare and many more have contributed to our education systems which were made to make us aware of the workings of the universe. Knowledge broadens one's horizons. From an early age, we are put into institutions like schools to grasp knowledge about the world and its elements. Knowledge gives our imagination wings. There's no doubt that new ideas originate from one's imagination, but knowledge is the tool to implement it in life. Everybody must have Imagined about making long-distance communication easier, but it was not the imagination which led to the life-altering discovery of telephones. It was the knowledge and hard work of Alexander Graham Bell which made this dream of thousands of people come true.

In conclusion, Knowledge is what makes a man skilled. A powerful imagination with necessary knowledge has made the world what it is today. imagination is the engine, fueled by knowledge. Without knowledge, we're just a group of people daydreaming about stuff.