Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

To maintain harmony in the society we live in it is important to make sure that the laws and regulations are being followed by the citizens. The law servants, popularly known as a police force look after the society and take preventive measures to ensure harmony and peace in society. Some measures may be extreme which are often required to maintain the balance in society. In my opinion, police force carrying a gun around is not only okay but necessary too due to the two reasons.

Firstly, as a police force, they are highly susceptible to being encountered by criminals hence, carrying a gun could really benefit a police officer. Police force face criminals almost at every step of their day. Some criminals whom they face may be heavily armed and can do serious damage to the police, without a gun it is almost impossible to save yourself from these kinds of unexpected dangerous situation.

Secondly, police force does not carry guns only for the sake of their own security but also for the protection of common people around them. Police force is professionally trained and are perfectly qualified to carry a gun around. Carrying a gun around doesn’t imply that it promotes violence of any kind. As mentioned above, you never know when danger could strike.

Further, it’s not the police force carrying guns that encourages violence; it is people with no relative use of the gun carrying them around like a handbag who promote violence. These people pose a threat to lives of the people around them. One could get into an argument and try to harm people around him/her, under such severe circumstances the police force has to take drastic measures to ensure the security of the people. Not having the required ammunition could lead to some undesirable results.

To sum up, for facing sudden dangers and criminals the police force needs to be ready and armed to protect them. Carrying a gun around doesn’t ensure total protection but it surely gives a lot more scope of protection.