The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens

Democracy is a type of government formed by the people by casting votes for the representatives of the various political parties. After Monarch democracy came into play in majority of the regions around the world. Eliminating the hierarchy of ruling, every citizen is given a right to choose their leader. This way even a common man can choose a leader, who he believes to work for his cause and serve the country well. I agree that the effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Firstly, the whole idea of democracy was to ensure that someone who is running the country should have a brief understanding of economic, cultural and social circumstances of the respective region. To get a peripheral view of the condition of a country and effectiveness of the leader’s one may turn to the citizens for a central view. For instance, if the economic condition of the majority of the population is adverse, one could easily predict that the leaders of the government are at fault. Meaning, the declining economy of the country indicates that the leaders are either incapable of serving the country or are too lazy to take action. Further, we have seen all around the globe that a country flourishes under righteous and active leaders who work well for their citizens.

Secondly, if the effectiveness of the leader's is to be examined what better way is there to dig into the well-being of the layman? The highest authority, the government and its leaders are solely responsible for the ups and downs in a country. The leaders make all the important international, national and regional decisions of their country which affects the day to day lives of the population of the country. People of a country rely on their leaders to make sound decisions in favor of progress of the country with a promise of a harmonious life. The fact that a country's leaders play a vital role in the conditions of the country is inexorable. Concluding, whatever the decisions that are made by the leaders affect the well-being of the citizens.

One may argue that sometimes even when leaders are good, there are external situation that may impact the well-being of its citizens like a natural disaster or a terrorist attack. Although, the leaders are responsible for what happens afterwards. The decisions they make, the measures they follow and these are the major situation when a leader’s abilities are tested. Mostly the contribution of the leader is measured in terms of how the people have enhanced their way of living by fulfilling basic needs.