Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages higher level of violence in that society.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A few subjects are likely to provoke controversy as police’s guns and its effects on violence. A number of people think that police officer carries firearms could lead to higher level of violence. I partly agree with this view.

On the one hand, there are various drawbacks when allowing protection team bring weapons. Firstly, this policy might trigger the wrong perception in the mind of young adolescents that possessing weapons is acceptable, unconsciously, breeding future offenders. Another reason would be that it could witness a large amount of innocent dead by police. A good example of this case is that in New Zealand, there have been almost 40 people shot to head by police in the last 70 years when most of those cases could have been solved with something more moral.

On the other hand, it is reasonable that police are entitled to carry guns. Policemen and policewomen have right to use guns in order to protect themselves and citizens from aggressive individuals and criminal groups. In reality, criminals are escalating alarmingly and governments should take a policy of zero to tolerance like equipping modern weapons to reduce the crime rate. In addition, guns can be used as the last resort to resolve the heightened and emerged situations. For instance, in Viet Nam, protection team are allowed to use guns to retrain perilous breakers such as murderers and human traffickers.

After discussing all the points mentioned above, it is, therefore, safe to conclude that there are several demerits when entitling police officers to equip guns, however, I strongly believe that they should be using them with the aim of protecting society.