Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so the medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do you think the disadvantages of private healthcare outweigh the advantages?

In recent times, the general tendency has been that one of the fundamental demands of human is possessing a good health, so the healthcare services should be provided by private hospitals rather than public ones. While I accept that this situation has surely carried along with its both pros and cons, I would argue that there are more demerits than merits.

On the one hand, the most obvious gain of these circumstances is serving speed. People have not to pass a long waiting list for check-ups and diagnosis. A good example of this is that in many big public hospitals, people have to spend an entire morning or even all day on waiting in line for being medically examined. Another valuable result is that private hospitals may provide healthcare services to remote areas where health care is not accessible since they have enough funds and conditions to do this.

On the other hand, we should not turn a blind eye to the expected undesirable outcomes, which are overshadowed by advantages. Firstly, the cost of treatment could be exorbitant for poverty citizens who are incapable of paying this. Patients must pay prescription charges or the cost of using cutting-edge medical equipment while they do not have these needs could be taken as an example of this. Secondly, there is no doubt that quality of care may suffer if profits determine care or treatment decisions. As a consequence, people who have less money could be put in danger or even deprive their lives if doctors are driven by the incentives to gain money instead of their conscience.

In conclusion, it seems to me that such large drawbacks that running the healthcare services by private hospitals, which outweigh the benefits.