Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Security is one of the leading concerns of countries in every corner of the world where governments establish their own security laws to protect their regions and ensure social order. In fact, it is stated that police, whose main obligation is saving countries and citizens from harms, should not be allowed to hold guns because it might result in the rise of violent rate. Personally, I strongly believe that carrying guns is necessary because of two main reasons: the importance of guns in supporting police to keep the peace in regions and to ensure a better and safer life for citizens.

Firstly, no one can deny the significance of using guns to support police doing their jobs, especially in keeping the peace for their countries. More specific, using guns help thems protect themselves and others from terrorism because the police equipped guns can better control situations. Take the police who are charged with destroying drugs trafficking is an example, they, evidently, have to be allowed to use guns because of their dangerous missions and threatening enemies. Therefore, they need to carry guns to protect themselves, complete their assignments and lessen any responsible risks. A similar situation can be easily found in terror attacks, especially in war zones like Pakistan, Yemen or Syria. In these areas, equipping guns for police is mandatory because the police can not fight against attackers without using weapons. Needless to say, although in many cases, the police might not need to use guns, it is obvious that guns play a very important role if necessary.

Lastly, a better and safer life can result from the reduction of crime in society. In fact, police need to take advantages of weapons like guns to make people obey the laws and to prevent and solve the crime. Specifically, in lots of cases, it is easier for the police to arrest someone who is a dangerous offender with a gun and as the result, the crime rate can be controlled strictly. For instance, it might be easy to arrest a robber without using guns, however, it can become extremely dangerous if he/she holding something that can harm innocent others. Therefore, police need to use powerful tools like guns in order to control these threatening people. Furthermore, in many situations, there are lots of offenders trying to kill or harm police who resort criminal into the prison sentence. That’s the reason why guns can also be considered as a self-defence weapons which help police protect themselves and others. When the crimes are controlled, people’s lives, sooner or later, will become safer, better and happier.

In a nutshell, using weapons like guns of the police will obviously play a very important role in keeping the peace for a country, reducing the crime rate in society as well as making a better, safer and happier life for people if they are used legally, properly and efficiently.