Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion. .

Nowadays, educating children always play a vital role in the development of a society because they are the new generation who will considerably contribute to build up their society. In fact, teaching children to be useful citizens is not only responsibility of neither their parents nor schools. Personally, children can gain more knowledge about the ways to be good members from their parents, and schools, obviously, are also indispensible places to learn this.

One the one hand, children always have initial reactions, reflections, and communication with their parents who have a tendency to teach their babies the easiest and the most basic things in daily life. Along with education of parents, children who are always ready to discover new things can easily listen to others and broaden their personal knowledge. That’s the reason why many think that children totally capable of be taught basic necessary things to become a useful member of society. For example, parents can teach their children about politeness, loyalty, and honesty. More specific, lots of children at age pre-schools can know what they should do when they meet a stranger like greet, shake hands or express grateful whenever received others’ help or should or should not throw trash into the street. Gradually, their behaviors and personal characteristic can be shaped. However, they will lose lots of chances to appoach other things outside if they do not get out of the parents’ training at home. In general, the most basic knowledge which children can accumulate to complete themselves is imparted by parents.

On the other hand, at school-age, children may have lots of opotunities to be educated about other things at studying environment which are more complicated than what they are learned at pre-school age. One of the reason is at this age, children can study various different curriculums and then they will have deeper knowledge about their society they are living in. Thus, children can accumulate complicated knowledge like common and uncommon laws and how to obey them. For instance, most of the primary children in Vietnam at 1st or 2nd grade are taught about traffic laws and punishments for those who disobey these laws. That’s the reason why breaking traffic rules can be reduced in the future mainly because the new generation know that they should do it. Furthermore, schools are also places where children can enlarge their social cycle. And then, they have lots of chances to propagate laws which they have learned to their friends. Conclusively, it is undeniable that good manners and good behaviors of children can be shaped by what they acquired in their schools.

As discussed, both of parents and schools contribute to children’s advancement physically, mentally and socially, especially in educating a new generation to be useful citizens who play a significant role in building up and developing of society.