Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

For most people, the training of children takes place in a classroom, nevertheless, I believe it is the duty of parents to raise young children into becoming responsible members of the community.

Children are sent to school to learn from their teachers. The reason for this is because institutions of learning were basically made for this purpose. It is in colleges young adults are taught subjects or courses which forms the bedrock of their careers as they grow, into becoming professional, in their various fields. As a case in point, nurses and doctors got their training from school by respective tutors. This mastery, make them better placed in society. However, I think that, in spite, the education acquired in school, it still does not guarantee acceptable behaviour in the neighbourhood.

The task of raising better fellows in the community rests on parents. This is because parents are the first to come in contact with them and their character formation begins at home, before, during, and after pre-school. As a case in point, children learn from parents through observation and imitation of the way of speech and disposition. An angry and quick-tempered parent would naturally raise young adults like themselves. This trickles down to society at large. I believe this school of thought is most preferred because when children who have gone through academics but are deficient home training, not only bring displeasure to their lineage but are as well nuisance, to themselves and the public.

In conclusion, although teaching children in school is key to making them rewarding members of the community, learning from home the essentials of being better people is fundamental because personality is everything.