Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Competition among children could be advantageous. On the hand, co-operation is considered to be a better practice. In my opinion, a healthy competition is necessary for a child’s development but at the same time co-operation is a trait that makes a productive adult.

Firstly, competition is a great driving force. Having competition makes everything look like a trophy and it is in human nature that we enjoy being awarded for our actions. Competing with one another inculcates the habit of working hard for the prize in children. For instance, many studies throughout years have shown that children tend to get more involved or be interested in activities that reward them. This caving for the prize makes the competition fascinating and promotes hard work.

On the other hand, teaching children to co-operate with others makes them a kind and generous human being. For example, a co-operative child would be more adaptable in social situations namely camping, trekking, painting classes, etc and would be more giving than a non co-operative child. The practice of co-operating with others makes the children considerate. Moreover, it prepares them for the real world where they learn that they will not always get things according to their needs or demands and hence would have to co-operate.

Concluding, a useful adult is a perfect combination of competitive and co-operative. Both this qualities need to be taught to children. One characteristic is dangerous without the other. Making a child too competitive could lead to fights, anger issues and even depression on the times of defeat. Similarly, making a child too co-operative will make them a push-over and these children are more likely to be an easy target of bullies. Hence, to make successful asset worthy adults one has to teach their child to be kind and fierce at the same time.