Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Yes, we do have too many choices nowadays. Advertisements and marketing have contributed a lot to this cause. We live in an era where there is an alternative to almost everything. These choices provide unbeatable competition to one another making it almost impossible for a consumer to make a decision.

Firstly, in this dynamic world nothing is constant. Everything keeps changing in a blink of an eye. Today’s trend could be tomorrow’s history. These rapid changes give rise to new choices every day. For instance, consider the example of technology. I think it is the most rapidly growing industry in today’s scenario. It is no mystery that the advancements in the field of technology have been unbelievable. Newer models of mobile phones, televisions, laptops, computers, etc. are hitting the market every day providing the consumer a tremendous amount of options to choose from.

Secondly, the best example of too many choices I have conspicuously noticed is in the fashion and makeup industries. Newer and better makeup is introduced in the market so often that the consumer has an enormous amount of choices to choose from. In the fashion industry the new trends in clothing provide the customer with a bulk of options. Not only this, the fashion trends considered to be outdated are making a comeback, hence, increasing the number of choices one has.

Too many choices can be seen as either boon or bane. Having choices is a good thing as it provides alternatives but at the same time it can cause confusion in one’s mind. But it’s hard to draw a line between too many choices and just the right amount of choices. Concluding, some people enjoy having many choices and some like to have fewer choices to make a sound decision.