Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines.

Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

Over time alternative methods have been developed to substitute human effort. This has resulted in a convenient lifestyle. Thing change has both upsides and downsides. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

To start with, advantages of the use of machines in the household. Several machineries in the house like washing machine, refrigerator, dishwashers and vacuüm cleaner, etc. have eradicated the burden of everyday chores. Back in the day, when these machines didn’t exist, these mundane chores took up majority of the day and leaves the person tired which resulted in leaving no energy for the other important things one might have planned for the day. But after the invention of these machines the tasks which took longer hours can be done within minutes hence, saving time. Concluding, these machines have made life much easier and save a lot of our time.

On the other hand, these machines have made us lazy and inhabited the practice of procrastination in us. These machines have made us dependent on them hence making us helpless without them. We lack the skills to perform tasks without these machines. For example some people cannot wash clothes without accessing washing machines. Also, these machines use electricity which is not cheap. This has led to higher electricity bills and more usage of electricity resulting in higher expenditure of a household.

To sum up, we are dependent of these machines as they have made our lives easier and have offered a luxurious lifestyle. At the same time, we have become handicapped without these machines. Although the situations in which we are without any machines around us are very rare. The pros of the machines outweigh the cons and benefit us endlessly.