Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Society, by definition refers to a group of individuals involved in a social interaction in a geographical region. A group of people combined together who share various beliefs, customs and ideas form a society. From the ancient times each society is believed to have a leader or a hero who they look up to. In the modern world, these heroes or leaders may be politicians, actors, activists, etc. The claim implies that to understand the character of a society one should just inspect its heroes. This is not a righteous claim due to the following reasons.

Firstly, societies from around the world are diverse. The norms, traditions, festivities and culture differ all around the globe. Even within a country, numerous cultural differences can be seen. So, it can be rightly said that no two societies are identical. The beliefs of various societies vary. What seems to be a charm for a society may be seen as a threat to another. Distinguishable societies choose their heroes and role models based on what is seen a righteous thing in their culture. But, it’s not guaranteed that the entire society looks up to them as heroes. Due to the heterogeneous nature of the society it cannot be assumed that all the individuals of the society share the same values as their heroes.

Secondly, how can one judge an entire population on the basis of their leaders or heroes? For instance, when the president of the United States, Donald Trump was elected, the opinion differences regarding his victory made headline every other day. Not every American supported his beliefs and ideologies. Even in our daily life it’s hard to agree with someone on everything. The differences in the opinion which occur between two individuals nullify the claim of the issue.

In conclusion, considering a homogeneous society the claim of the issue is fair. But in the real world, where there are heterogeneous societies the claim doesn’t stand upright. No two individuals have the same outlook on everything especially, their role models and heroes. It’s best to assume that everyone is entitled to their own opinion and choice.