The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council. "An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. This shows that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds. Furthermore, since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, attendance levels will improve. Therefore, we recommend the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author recommends the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism because in in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds, concluding attendance levels will improve, since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work. The author’s argument is unconvincing due to several reasons.

To begin with, the author fails to provide any data and rigorous proof of the study conducted in nearby East Meria. We don’t know the sample space, the conditions under which the study was conducted and other several factors which may play a significant role in concluding the cause of lesser visits to the doctor. Due to lack of evidence this assumption of author’s doesn’t seem reasonable. This nullifies the author’s argument and it cannot be concluded that that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds.

Secondly, author assumes that cold is the major reason of absenteeism from schools and workplace. The given information provides no evidence in support of this assumption. Other chronic diseases like cough, headache, stomachache, etc. can also be the reason of absenteeism in the school and workplace. This assumption isn’t plausible due to lack of evidence.

Furthermore, another assumption of the author that eating fish in large amount would prevent cold is fallacious. The author fails to take in account various other factors which might be responsible for lesser visits to the doctor like weather, personal habits, hygiene which play a significant role in well-being of a person. It doesn’t seem plausible to conclude from the given information that high fish consumption is the cause of decreasing visits to the doctor.

To sum up, the author needs to provide more evidence in support of his conclusion that the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism. He needs to provide more information about the study claiming that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds.