In the past, most people lived in small villages, where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and the disadvantages of living in small community?

After the modernization, more and more people have moved to cities with an unknown environment. Back in time, people preferred to live in their own communities. Living among their own communities had their pros and cons.

To start with, people living in a community knew each other well and had good relationships among themselves. This is what is missing from the living communities today. Having a healthy relationship with the people you live around is a sound practice. For instance, during the times of emergency namely house fire, robbery and medical emergencies, etc. one could approach the neighbors seeking help for their cause. This dependence on each other in the time of need was one major advantage that the people living in the villages enjoyed.

On the other hand, some people find the involvement of other people in their family or individual business nosy which could’ve been a problem if you live around the people you know well. They would like to know the mundane details of your life such as what time you are coming home, where you are going and what is your plan for the day etc. Personal space would’ve been the downside of living in a community. Another disadvantage of living in a community could’ve been a parochial environment. The exposure that a person might get in a community is limited. Usually, you’ll find like-minded people and this could retard your growth. People nowadays prefer living in a heterogeneous environment to keep them updated and blended in the world. The homogenous surrounding could’ve been a great downhill to the communal housings.

Concluding, there are two sides to everything. As the world moved forward, the living situations changed with it. Back in the day, today’s culture would’ve been a bad thing. But with evolution, this culture has been accepted globally. Hence, with time everything changes.