Traffic on roads has become a problem in nearly every country in the world.

What can be done to reduce the amount of traffic at a society level and at an individual level?

With the increasing population of the world, there is one thing that rose with it, the traffic. Consider each person on the planet with a personal vehicle and the problem becomes quite transparent. To reduce the traffic problem some measures can be taken.

At an individual level, carpooling would be a great practice. Imagine a group of four people share a car or a cab instead of using four different cars for daily commute; now consider this true for each group of four people all around the world. Resulting in the reduction of traffic by 25%. It is a small step but on a global scale it could provide favorable results.

On societal level, promoting the use of public transport could lead to reduction of traffic on roads. Encouraging people to take the subway, public buses and taxis would lead to less crowded roads. The government should make sure that the connectivity of the public transport is good.

Also, studies have proven that most traffic jams happen due to the violation of traffic rules. Following proper traffic rules and maintaining your own lane could solve the problem of heavy traffic jams. Additionally, starting awareness programs about the harmful effects of heavy traffic on roads among people. One of the biggest problem traffic causes is, noise pollution leading to some serious hearing problems in humans and animals. Also, cars and trucks contribute to air pollution. More the traffic, more the air pollution causing breathing problems and contributing to global warming. Introducing awareness programs could lead to lesser traffic.

“Rome wasn’t built in a day.” We still have a long way to go but we have to start somewhere. Taking baby steps in order to reduce traffic is a good start. Inculcating the above practices in your life today would lead to a better tomorrow.