The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits.Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter.Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The author suggests that to increase productivity Acme should make their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course because it worked for other companies which would cost about $500 per employee. This price is justified because of the benefits the course may yield. The author’s argument is based on some implausible assumptions which weaken the argument.

To start with, there is no guarantee that what worked for the employees of the other companies would work for the employees of Acme, that too, for every single employee. It’s a bit of a stretch that the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course would increase productivity of all employees of Acme. There is no evidence provided in support of the assumption that the course worked for every employee of the said company.

Secondly, the author says,” the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday” which doesn’t seem plausible. There is huge difference between learning and reading. Assuming that you’ll learn everything you read is wrong judgment .You might read about how to pilot a plane but does it mean that you can pilot a plane now? Reading could be of various types like passive reading, deep reading, etc. which does not really tantamount to learning. This nullifies the author’s claim.

Further, author assumes that Acme can afford paying $500 per employee for the course. With the clause made above it is not necessary that the course would be beneficial to the company. The company may end up losing a huge capital over a scheme that doesn’t guarantee favorable results. Before investing in this the company should do a thorough research about the course and then make a decision based on the data collected.

To sum up, the author needs to collect more data about the course and evaluate it before investing in the course. The author should pay close attention to the success to failure ratio of this course and decide whether it is worth investing $500 dollars for each employee.