The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The writer of the argument recommended that the company of Acme should provide facilities for their employees to take the course of easy read because it can help them to improve their efficiency. However, this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes a number of companies stated their productivity increased after taking a speed-reading course. However, it is not mentioned which companies they are, may be their work does not relate to reading any reports or documents mainly. For example, the truck drivers of a transportation company do not need to read a lot during their work, so it cannot affect their productivity.

Another problem with the argument is that the writer thinks that the improvement of efficiency is completely due to the speed reading of the employees. Maybe there are new facilities in the company which can help them to improve their quality of work. For example, a newly stablished gym for employees in which they can do exercises during their break time can increase their productivity.

The third issue is that the writer made an assumption about the elevating a graduate to vice president from a lower position is related to easy-read courses. However, there is not any guarantee that everybody just through passing this course can improve their position in the company. Maybe that person got the upper level because of the way that he negotiate with their costumers and proper behavior with other colleagues.

To conclude, the writer's recommendation cannot be taken into correct as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The recommendation of passing the course of speed-reading for all the companies in order to improve the quality of their workers' activities can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.