The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation letter asserts that by mandating all their employees to participate in the Speed-Reading Course, the overall productivity of the corporation will increase. However, the letter has some logical fallacies and will require supplementary information to further support the ideas. It would need to refute that productivity has a strong correlation with fast reading and $500 per employee is a small amount compared to the yearly salary of the workers and finally a sound reason to mandate every single employee to participate in the process.

First of all, the argument asserts that a graduate of the course was able to finish a 500 paged essay in just 2 hours. However, this statement may be overlooking the fact that the reader could have already been a speedy reader and would have been able to read the essay in 2 hours even if he did not complete the course. To fully answer this question, the passage should provide information on how the employee's reading speed changed after taking the course. In addition, it should also give information about the comprehension of the essay since the reader may have just skimmed over the essay instead of taking a close look. Also, the assertion that the productivity increase due to the fast reading lead to promotion is lacking in evidence. In a corporation there are numerous factors that decides who gets promoted and who doesn't. There is a possibility that the promoted employee was going to be promoted regardless of the completion of the course. Hence, if these questions were to be answered, it would be more persuasive that the course helps the employees.

Next, there is no supporting details the personnel director can argue that $500s is a small amount of money. If this company was located in a penurious country, such as Cuba where the average income rate is 30 dollars per year, then $500 is nothing but small. In addition, the question whether the course charges users only once or monthly or annually are not mentioned. If the course requires $500s every month, than it will cost $6000s per employee which is not a small amount for even the most prolific corporations such as Google or Apple. Consequently, the author should elaborate on the payment of the course in order to be further persuasive.

Finally, it is hard to be persuaded by the assertion that this course is required for every single employee. If the corporation is a small startup company like VisualCamp in Korea, consisting of only 20 employees, then there is a possibility that the workers may be enlightened by attending to the course. On the other hand, huge corporations such as Samsung would have various kinds of workers, and even employees whose main job is to clean. Then it would be preposterous to provide these educations to all workers. All in all, the ambiguity on all employees must be considered for this passage to be more cogent.

In conclusion, the questions of the course's effectiveness should be answered, and the billing policy and the financial situation of the corporation should be presented. Also, the scope of employees that require the course should be answered.